Business Services

Business Services provides many support services necessary to facilitate the instructional, co-curricular, and community programming offered by the Sparta Area School District. Some of these services include:

  • Coordinate all phases the district’s budgeting process. The annual budget of all district funds exceeds $30 million.
  • Receipt and disbursement of all district funds.
  • Process of payroll for over 600 full-time, part-time, and temporary employees.
  • Administer employee benefit programs.
  • Maintain financial records in accordance with Wisconsin Uniform Financial Accounting Requirements (WUFAR), Generally
  • Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP), and standards of the Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB).
  • Review of the reliability of the accounting and reporting systems.
  • Manage district investments.
  • Oversee district long- and short-term debt.
  • Maintain and verify current inventory of the fixed assets of the district.
  • Provide resources for School Board employee contract negotiations.
  • Oversee custodial, maintenance, and service systems of the district.
  • Provide supervision of District’s Food Service and Transportation services.

See this three page handout from the Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials for a more complete description of the activities of the school business office.

Staff

Leah Hauser Director of Business Services

Director of Business Services:
Leah Hauser
lhauser@spartan.org
(608) 366-3443 (ext. 6302)
Fax (608) 366-3474

Business Services Secretary:
Heidi Parr
hparr@spartan.org
(608) 366-3443 (ext. 6301)
Fax (608) 366-3525

Lehner-Zanon_Michele_18

District Accountant:
Michele Lehner-Zanon
mlehner-zanon@spartan.org
(608) 366-3429 (ext. 6321)
Fax (608) 366-3525

Valerie Stiehl

Payroll and Benefits Specialist:
Valerie Stiehl
vstiehl@spartan.org
(608) 366-3440 (ext. 6322)
Fax (608) 366-3404
Teachers, Administrators, Middle Management, Co-Curricular, Board

15642

Payroll and Benefits Specialist:
Beth Mickelson
bmickelson@spartan.org
(608) 366-3538 (ext. 6320)
Fax (608) 366-3433
Support Staff, Substitutes

Sarah Nelson

Accounts Payable/Receivable Specialist:
Sarah Nelson
snelson@spartan.org
(608) 366-3441 (ext. 6324)
Fax (608) 366-3444

Lowell Fromm

Supervisor of Buildings and Grounds:
Lowell Fromm
lfromm@spartan.org
(608) 366-3443 (ext. 6307)